Cricket   |   April 7, 2023

IPL 2023: Shardul, Gurbaz and Spinners run riot as KKR register a commanding win over RCB

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bounced back from their previous defeat against Punjab Kings to secure an 81-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Match 9 of the TATA IPL 2023 at the Eden Gardens. KKR spinners Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, and debutant Suyash Sharma dominated the match and bowled out the RCB batters for 123, helping their side to win by 81 runs.

KKR posted a formidable total of 204/7 after a slow start, thanks to Rahmanullah Gurbaz’s knock of 57 off 44, followed by Shardul Thakur’s counter-attacking innings of 68 off 29 and Rinku Singh’s calculated 46 off 33. The KKR spinners then put up a spin web around the RCB batters, with Chakravarthy securing four wickets for 15 runs, Narine taking two wickets for 16 runs, and Sharma picking up three wickets on debut. Follow your favourite IPL team with attractive betting odds from Empire777.

In the chase for 205, RCB openers Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis made an early impact, with Kohli hitting a couple of well-placed fours and Du Plessis smashing a couple of sixes and a four to make it a 23-run over. However, KKR’s spin attack worked as Narine cleaned up Kohli for 21(18) and gave away just three singles. Chakravarthy then knocked back Glenn Maxwell’s off stump with a googly, and disturbed the furniture again a ball later, as he made Harshal Patel chop one onto the stumps.

RCB’s collapse continued as Narine sent back Shahbaz Ahmed, and Shardul’s golden arm removed Doug Bracewell. RCB’s Impact Player, Anuj Rawat, was sent to bat at No. 8, but it was Suyash Sharma who made an impact, picking up two wickets in an over. 

Suyash had Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Karthik caught at short third man to reduce RCB to 86/8. Sharma picked up his third, having Karn Sharma caught at first slip after a successful review. David Willey and Akash Deep then smashed a few boundaries, but Chakravarthy came back to wrap things up with a brilliant caught and bowled of Akash Deep, bowling RCB out for 123.

RCB’s captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bowl, and they made one change to the side, with David Willey replacing the injured Reece Topley. KKR too made one change, as Venkatesh Iyer replaced Anukul Roy. RCB’s pacer Mohd. Siraj had a mixed start, and Willey bowled a double wicket maiden to peg KKR back. However, Gurbaz continued to play attacking strokes, and the pair recovered to score 47/2 at the end of the Powerplay. 

Willey bowled exceptionally well in the first six overs with figures of 3-1-9-2. Faf du Plessis introduced off-spinner Michael Bracewell into the attack after the Powerplay was done, and he struck off the first ball, dismissing KKR captain Nitish Rana caught behind.

In conclusion, KKR made a remarkable comeback in the match, with their spinners dominating the game and securing the side’s victory over RCB. Despite RCB’s early charge, KKR’s calculated knocks and spin attack proved too much for the visitors to handle. The match highlights include the KKR’s innings of 204/7, with the top scores from Gurbaz and Thakur. Follow Empire777 Sports to get the latest updates from IPL 2023.

Brief Scores:

KKR 204/7 in 20 Overs (Thakur 68, Gurbaz 57; Willey 2/16)

RCB 123 All Out in 17.4 Overs (Du Plessis 23, Kohli 21; Chakravarthy 4/15)

KKR won by 81 runs.