Cricket   |   February 21, 2023

Ranji-winning pacer named in India’s ODI squad vs Australia

It has been yet another memorable campaign with the ball for Jaydev Unadkat in the Ranji Trophy, who successfully took his side to yet another Ranji title. The star left-arm pacer took nine wickets in the match, including a six-fer in the second innings, and was named Player of the Match in the final against Bengal. To make his day a little more special, he received yet another senior call up from the Indian team.

Unadkat was originally part of the Indian Test squad for the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy. He was allowed to leave the national camp to join Saurashtra for the Ranji final as he was not going to play the Delhi Test, which India won by six wickets. He will be rejoining the team for the third and fourth Test matches.

However, this time, he has also been called up for the Indian ODI squad that will face Australia across three matches after the ongoing series. You can also bet on the ODI series between India and Australia on Bet365.

It comes as a bit of a surprise for the fans as Unadkat, who played seven ODIs and 10 T20Is overall for the national side, hasn’t featured in the ODI side since November 2013 and in the T20Is since March 2018.

The selectors were impressed with his performances in the Ranji season, where he returned with 26 wickets in just four appearances at an outstanding average of 13.88. Unadkat had made return to the Test side as well recently against Bangladesh, which was his second in the Indian whites. He had made his Test debut back in 2010.

Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, who were absent from the ODI series against New Zealand, will return to secure their places in the 50-over setup. Rohit Sharma will miss the first ODI due to family commitments and Hardik Pandya will take his place as skipper temporarily. You can follow the developments on Bet365 sports.

India have registered a commanding 2-0 lead in the Test series against Australia and are set to retain the BGT for the fourth consecutive time, becoming the first among these two teams to do so. After that series is done, India and Australia will lock horns in the ODIs beginning on March 17 at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. For live updates, Bet365 scores is the best place to follow.

India squad for third and fourth Tests: Rohit Sharma (c), K L Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

India squad for ODI series: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat.